Please note that this application requires a phone running at least iOS 8 Search for “GAP Lone Worker" on the app store and tap the install button, or click this icon:
To get started, you will need your GAP user name and a one-time code from your system administrator to use the application. The application cannot be used without this code.
Once activated, you are ready to start using the app.
Please note that many of the features in the Lone Worker app trigger notifications to alert you about important events (check-in required, man down detected, etc.). These notifications will only be triggered when the app is running in background, or the phone has been locked.
All of the main features of the app are accessed by tapping the tabs displayed along the bottom of the screen. Tapping the "More" tab reveals a list of extra functionality, such as the Message Log and the Settings screen. You can use the “Edit” feature to re-arrange the order of the tabs.
Please note that some app features and / or settings may be hidden or locked by your system administrator.
Drag the handle of the “slide to start SOS” slider all the way to the right to start sending emergency messages to the GAP portal.
You can change the frequency of the messages by changing the option displayed near the bottom of the screen (labeled: “Send an SOS position update every:”). Just tap it to open the picker.
Once in SOS mode, all other messages transmitted (tracking, monitoring, and check-ins) will also be flagged with the emergency status.
SOS messages will continue to be sent until the emergency is cancelled using the slider, even if the app is running in the background or the phone is locked.
This feature allows you to be monitored by the GAP portal. Once monitoring has been started (by tapping the "Start Monitoring Me" button), the countdown until the next required check-in is started and the Check-in button colour changes to green.
If the app is moved to background (if you need to run another app), or the phone is locked, a notification will be displayed when it is time to check-in.
The portal will raise an alarm if you fail to check-in regularly at the interval displayed near the bottom of the screen. This interval can be changed by tapping on it.
The monitoring will continue until the "Stop Monitoring Me" button is tapped, even if the app is running in the background or the phone is locked.
Tap the "Start tracking" button to begin sending your current position to the GAP portal. This will continue until you tap the "Stop tracking" button, even if the app is in background mode or your phone is locked.
Don't forget to stop tracking when no longer required, as it may cause the phone's battery to drain more quickly than normal.
The frequency of the tracking reports can be configured using the options shown near the bottom of screen. The first option controls the time between reports, and the second tells the phone to only send a new tracking report if it has moved a certain distance since the last one was sent. These options can be changed by tapping them.
This feature allows you to check-in based on your server-side schedule. Each time the app is started, it will download the latest schedule from the portal.
You can enable/disable your schedule using the switch displayed in the top-right corner of the screen.
Once a schedule has been downloaded to the phone, the app will display a notification each time you are required to check in. This will occur even if the app is in background or your phone is locked. To check in, just tap the “Check in” button.
Once this mode is started, the phone will monitor your movement and will immediately trigger SOS mode if you remain motionless for too long.
There are three configuration options displayed near the bottom of the screen.
1. Motion sensitivity. Increasing the sensitivity reduces the likelihood of triggering a false alarm.
2. The length of time before the alarm is triggered.
3. Cancellation window. A cancellation window can be setup which will alert you before the SOS is triggered and give you the opportunity to cancel it. Set this to zero if not required.
The log screen displays a scrollable list of the last 200 events that have occurred since you started the app. You can clear the log by tapping the 'Clear Log' button at the bottom of the settings screen.
The map screen displays a marker showing your current location (this marker can be tapped to display the lat/lng).
In the top right corner, there is a button for displaying a track of your reported positions. Tap it to display a picker to choose the track length (by time). Choose zero to remove the track.
The map view can be toggled between Road, Satellite, and Hybrid using the buttons near the bottom of the screen.
The messaging screen displays a list of messages sent to the application.
Clicking on the username will show the converstion history, and allow you to reply.
A red "badge" will show on the app's home screen icon showing the number of unread messages.
The Travel Advice screen displays travel advice provided by either the United Kingdom Foreign & Commonwealth Office or the US State Department. Only GAP user accounts with their "Citizenship" option set to United States will see advice from the US State Department. This setting can be changed under "My Profile" in the GAP Portal.
Clicking on a country will display a list of headings. Clicking on a heading will show detailed information.
The GAP Lone Worker app supports triggering of an SOS alert via a wireless (Bluetooth Low Energy) button called the V.BTTN.
To use this functionality, you must first ensure that Bluetooth is switched on:
To trigger an SOS alert via the V.BTTN, press and hold it for 3 seconds. The button will flash red. Once the alert has been received by the phone, the button will change to flash alternate red and green. SOS alerts can only be cancelled using the SOS alerts tab.
To disconnect your V.BTTN, tap the "Disconnect" button. To reconnect, tap "Connect To Button". To disconnect the V.BTTN and prevent it from reconnecting, tap "Forget Button".
If your V.BTTN goes out of range, you will receive repeated notifications of this until such time as the V.BTTN reconnects or you disconnect the V.BTTN. The app will try to reconnect constantly should connectivity to the V.BTTN be lost.
This screen contains extra configuration options for the app. When you change a setting, it doesn't get saved until you navigate away from the screen. NOTE: Not all options may be available to all users.
A brief description of each setting follows:
Show Check-in Notifications - Should the app remind you to check-in via a notification message when the app is in the background or the phone is locked?
Notification Sound - The sound played when alerts are displayed.
Clear Log - Tap this to clear the activity log.
Deactivate App - Deactivates the application. WARNING: This option will stop your app from sending and receiving data (including SOS alerts).
Monitoring Buffer – This is the period of time before or after a check-in is due that you check-in. Example: If you are due to check-in at 10:30am and the buffer is 5 minutes, then you can check-in anytime between 10:25am and 10:35am and the alarm will not be raised until 10:35am.
Motion Update Interval – How often the position of the phone will be polled to determine movement.
Required Accuracy - The desired level of accuracy for position data. Setting a smaller (more accurate) value (i.e. 10 metres) may result in longer time to acquisition and shorter battery life.